Short list announced for the 2014 Fenland Poet Laureate Awards

by admin on March 5, 2014

Fenland Poet LaureateThe votes are in and the finalists have been announced for this year’s Fenland Poet Laureate Awards!

The annual competition, which is now in its third year, gives local poets a chance to compete to become the Fenland Poet Laureate, a title that allows its recipient to write poetry for local events, and work with local organisations to help raise the profile of literary and creative writing throughout the Fens.

Originally founded in 2011 by Karen Harvey, the Fenland Poet Laureate Awards received initial funding in the form of a highly coveted Clore Poetry & Literature Award.

This year, the event is being run by local arts organisation ADeC, with support from Atelier East and the Wisbech and Fenland Museum, and funding from the Wisbech Town Council and Friends of the Wisbech and Fenland Museum.

The judges read through over seventy entries – which had been anonymised to avoid any favouritism – and picked their favourite ten poems in each category.

The short listed poets in the adult category are: Miriam Brown, Deb Curtis, Emma Danes, Poppy Kleiser, Helen Pletts, Richard Powell, Paul Quant, Michael Riccardi, Jonathon Totman, and Rosemary Westwell.

In the eleven to seventeen age group, the ten finalists are: Florence Browse, Rana Gadir, Ben Hamilton, Macy Hilton, Hannah Lemmon, Lucy McInerney, Harry Sayer, William Sinfield, Kristina Tunnard, and Rachael White.

“I am delighted to have been shortlisted for the Fenland Poet Laureate award,” says Deb Curtis, one of the ten finalists in the adult category. “I know this award has done a huge amount to raise the profile of poets and poetry in Fenland, and creates a wonderful meeting space for writers to showcase the best of their work and to enjoy the contributions of others.”

If you want to find out who has won the coveted titles of Fenland Poet Laureate and Young Fenland Poet Laureate, you can join the team at the Fenland Poet Laureate Awards Ceremony at 7pm on Wednesday 19th of March at the Wisbech and Fenland Museum.

All of the finalists will perform their poems, and the Fenland Poet Laureate and Young Fenland Poet Laureate will be revealed on the night!

The awards ceremony itself free and open to all, but places are limited. To put your name on the guest list, please email the ADeC office.

Previous post:

Next post: